top of page

Life is Short - Don't be lazy.

This is more a reminder to myself more than anything. I find that with new changes, I take some time to get adjusted to new routines. As much as I adore new challenges and changes in my life, I need time. Don't we all? Need time? The more, the better. - Yes?

Do we wish we had more hours in a day or an infinite amount of time in our lifetime? I think if we had infinite amount of time, we are less likely to make good use of the time. Because after all, we do have an endless supply of time. Having just 24 hours per day and a yet undefined amount of time in our life (because I have no idea how much time I truly really have, before, you know, the inevitable happens) forces me to remember that I need to make good use of the time that I have.

But that is easier said than done. There were days in the past 5 weeks, where I took a 4 hour nap. I watched mindless TV. I did not blog. I did not write. I did not read. I did not expand my mind. I did not learn. I was lazy.

I did not stick to my routine and I felt overwhelmed with new changes in my life. I recognise that. I now need to set new routines to fit these new changes in my life and revisit my goals. My passions. And my future.

Recently, I read that the Swiss people are voting on a referendum that if voted in favour of would see their citizens receive a universal basic income of about SGD$3250/2500 Swiss francs. Now the question is, if your universal basic income is met, what would you do? Would you become lazy since your basic income is met? After all, isn’t that why we go to work for jobs we don’t really like and work for people we can’t stand. We buckle down and be an adult about it because we have basic needs to be met. Yes? No? I am not saying that we are all wallowing in work that we hate and we wake up each day feeling unfulfilled. But I am saying that if this instance, we took our worries of meeting a basic income away, what would we truly do? Would you still continue doing what you are doing?

But I would not be doing what I am doing if my basic income was met. I would be using the time to learn more about fitness, intimate relationship with food and the science behind food. I want to transform the way we think about food. Food is not just leisure. But fuel for our body- that which is the engine. Food is nutrition that fulfils our physical needs to live and live well. To stave off illness. I would be using the time to plan how I can expand my beliefs and influence others to eat differently.

They say your calling is when you do something that you are good at which makes other people’s lives better and being appreciated for it.

Do you know what’s your calling?

Meanwhile, I make do with the limited resources I have and I would like to share with you my recipe breakfast bars for days! Full of nutrition for all that 'brain power' to muse about your calling!

Superfood Brekkie Bars

Ingredients

1. 10 - 12 pitted Medjool Dates

2. 1 cup water

3. 1 tablespoon liquid sweetener (I used coconut syrup)

4. 1 tablespoon peanut butter

5. 1/3 cup chia seeds

6. 1 cup rolled oats

7. 2/3 cup buckwheat groats

8. 1/3 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

9. 1/3 cup dried goji berries

10. 2/3 cup pumpkin seeds

11. 1/3 cup sunflower seeds

What do I do?

1. In a saucepan, add ingredients 1 - 4 and let it simmer until it becomes a brown mush. It will take about 10 minutes. Give it a hand by using a fork and mushing it together after it comes to a boil.

2. In a clean bowl, mix all the dry ingredients together. Have a little fun and toss it about with your hands!

3. After the mush is ready, add the mush to the mixture of the dry ingredients.

4. Give it a thorough mix and ensure all the dry ingredients come together like a dough.

5. Transfer the dough like mixture into a cake pan and smoothen it out using the back of a spoon or spatula.

6. It should be about an inch in thickness.

7. In a pre-heated oven, bake it for 30 mins at 180deg celsius. It should be dry on the surface.

8. Remove from oven and leave it to cool in the pan. Cut into single serve bars when its completely cool.

9. Store them in the fridge for 7 days.

Breakfast for the week is ready!


Goal setting tips

 

#1

Set goals that are measurable and achievable. For example, I aim to complete one strict pull up after 6 months

 

#2

Break down your goals into smaller manageable habits. For example, I will do 10 reps of negative pull ups at least 4 times each week.

 

#3

Write down these big goals and small habit forming goals to remind yourself every day. Visualise achieving the goals everyday! 

 

bottom of page