top of page

Things to do before you are 40.

I hate lists. I hate them because they are irrelevant and have little to no context to the person reading them. It is simply a collection of random events and things that have one, at best, unifiying thread to them which warranted the writing of the LIST. I hate lists because they are a compilation of things that the writer (putter-together-of-the-list) uses to place pressure on the reader to now start thinking about how they can cross out the items on the list. After all, isn’t that what a list is? Lists do not serve any purpose unless someone crosses out the items. I do not need that pressure to adopt lists from faceless human beings slogging away on their machines to churn out lists of things. Things to do on a budget weekend. Things to do when you are in Bali. Things you should not wear in your 40s. Things you must know about Kim K’s ginormous butt. NO. But I am not here to rant to about lists. (If I haven’t done that already). I hope it is clear, by now, to you that this post will not be a list.

However, a particular list was the object of my unfortunate inspiration for today.

Things to do before you are 40.

Why do I have to do these things before I am 40? Why is 40 such a significant age? Why can’t these things be done at any other age group? This list jolted thoughts in my head about the undue significance that we place on our age. I can do anything I want to do at this age or otherwise. I can be restricted by other limitations such as my fears of drowning and snakes but certainly not my age. We are only limited by our self-belief and conviction. Clearly, I do not have the conviction to overcome my inability to swim.

Age is simply a chance for me to grow another day, month or year. Age may not make me wiser. But age will certainly afford me the opportunity to remember that I have the gift of today to do something with this time I have got.

I wish I had known this when I was younger.

Age does not dictate what I can and cannot wear. I did not throw out certain clothes out of my wardrobe when I turned the magical age of 30. It was hardly magical. Cropped tops and short skirts still form part of my wardrobe, albeit I will not be wearing them together. Age has made me more comfortable with my body. With age, I became more confident about my body. Age did not limit my expectations in the gym but it has made me more careful with my posture and technique. I, now, know that no matter how old I am, I can get stronger and fitter.

I wish I had known this when I was younger.

Age reminds me that I have lesser time today than yesterday. It reminds me that I am one day closer to the end of days. This constant reminder of my mortality drives me each day to continue living. Age after all may catch up with me one day.

Memento Mori. Memento Vivere.

“Remember you must die. Remember you must live”


Goal setting tips

 

#1

Set goals that are measurable and achievable. For example, I aim to complete one strict pull up after 6 months

 

#2

Break down your goals into smaller manageable habits. For example, I will do 10 reps of negative pull ups at least 4 times each week.

 

#3

Write down these big goals and small habit forming goals to remind yourself every day. Visualise achieving the goals everyday! 

 

bottom of page